ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
36.1%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
10:50 am
Perth
7:50 am
Auckland*
12:50 pm
New York
6:50 pm
Paris
12:50 am
GMT
11:50 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 06-12-2018, 09:41 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 409
Sync function not working properly on StellariumScope

Iíve noticed during the last 2 nights imaging sessions that the sync function ( CTRL -3 ) on Stellarium Scope is playing up in Stellarium. I slew to the first star ok using CTRL -1 , Centre it with the control pad , hit CTRL-3 and it self aligns and records a sync point. Then I slew to the second star, centre it using control pad then hit CTRL-3 and nothing happens
The programme has been working flawlessly for months
I checked all settings in StellariumScope and looks ok
Any ideas ??
Maybe a reinstall ??
Any advice most appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2018, 08:37 AM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 409
Problem solved !
You have to minimise StellariumScope and the EQMOD control pad and just have Stellarium open to enable the sync function
Itís a bit fiddly as you are minimising the EQMOD window and BYEOS window often but I find the sync function very accurate for goto pointing. As long as you have at least a mag 3.5 Star near your target you can be sure your scope will be bang on dead centre ready for imaging.

Does anybody else use EQMOD and Stellarium scope for goto ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2018, 08:51 AM
gaseous (Patrick)
Registered User

gaseous is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 404
Used to use them on my goto dobs - very accurate when working, but I found stellariumscope a bit temperamental to set up. (or I was a doofus, which is more likely). Have since moved to the Skywatcher Synscan app and wifi adapter through a tablet.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2018, 03:21 PM
NorthernLight's Avatar
NorthernLight (Max)
Settled

NorthernLight is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 300
Hi Martin, I’m using this combination but I added Astrotortilla for platesolving. Now I only use Stellarium to select the target and after it has moved the scope I do a platesolve, which is always very accurate, even if it has to do an iteration. I would recommend this to you as it does not rely on anything else other than the stars your camera images. Especially very dim targets were hard for as it wasn’t always clear whether the scope is actually centred on the object - so long exposures were required to confirm. Now it’s all automatic and Astrotortilla automatically syncs Stellarium after each platesolve. I’m really surprised how great this works and glad it can be had for free. Great tools.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2018, 08:35 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 409
Hi Max
Iím happy where Iím at at the moment but plate solving is on my to do list sometime next year

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement