ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Crescent
6.5%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
12:51 am
Perth
9:51 pm
Auckland*
2:51 am
New York
8:51 am
Paris
2:51 pm
GMT
1:51 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Solar System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 20-11-2017, 02:32 AM
Bushy69 (Justin)
Registered User

Bushy69 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Perth
Posts: 4
Sun Nov 18th - PST - My First Image

Hi All,

Picked up a used Coronado PST last week. Purchased a cheap Camera Tripod, and I must say it is the easiest scope I have ever used (it sits on my sideboard, and I literally grab it when I have a spare 15 minutes, pop the mini tripod on my Sulo bin (perfect height for me), and have a quick peek at the sun. Amazed at the views for such a little scope (looks like a toy, but it is definitely a fine piece of equipment).

Had no joy with DSLR (back focus issue), will sort that out at a later date. Here is my first snap holding my Galaxy S6 to a 15mm eyepiece (can't get much more crude than that).

Very enjoyable experience (this could become an addiction).

Cheers,
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Sun_18_11_2017.jpg)
159.7 KB47 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-11-2017, 06:08 AM
Derek Klepp's Avatar
Derek Klepp
Registered User

Derek Klepp is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NE NSW
Posts: 2,044
That came out well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-11-2017, 06:20 AM
Atmos's Avatar
Atmos (Colin)
Ultimate Noob

Atmos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,614
I had my PST our over the weekend as well, I have tried using my phone as well but never got an image that good!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-11-2017, 07:34 PM
GUS.K
Registered User

GUS.K is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Katoomba,NSW
Posts: 252
That's a great image Justin, some nice detail.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-11-2017, 09:37 PM
Bushy69 (Justin)
Registered User

Bushy69 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Perth
Posts: 4
Thanks for the positive comments.

Hoping to get into post processing, at this stage, just happy to be able to snap a quick image.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement