ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Crescent
6.5%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
1:00 am
Perth
10:00 pm
Auckland*
3:00 am
New York
9:00 am
Paris
3:00 pm
GMT
2:00 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Solar System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 03-11-2017, 10:47 AM
John W (John Wilkinson)
Registered User

John W is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Castlemaine, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 436
West side of moon

1st Nov. West side of the moon near Aristarchus crater (40km diam, bright crater in centre of pic). Just above it is Schroter's Valley (a sinuous rille). Also notice the Aristarchus plateau - a dark diamond shaped area around the rille that contains volcanic ash. The plateau is not smooth but has many small hills and ridges. Single exposure 1/125 sec x 200 iso image taken thru a 10" LX600 SCT scope with a Canon 1200d camera. Do you recognise the other craters in the pic? Thanks for viewing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (IMG_0539c.jpg)
187.8 KB65 views
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement