ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Crescent
3%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
9:44 pm
Perth
6:44 pm
Auckland*
11:44 pm
New York
5:44 am
Paris
11:44 am
GMT
10:44 am




  #1  
Old 18-09-2017, 04:00 PM
Astrofriend's Avatar
Astrofriend (Lars)
Registered User

Astrofriend is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 52
Astronomical Dictionary

Hi and welcome to the wonderful universe.

New to astronomy you will find a lot of strange words, I have done a astronomical dictionary with links to Wikipedia as a help.

http://astrofriend.eu/astronomy/astr...ictionary.html

I hope it will give you some of the answeres on your thoughts about universe.

And I think it will be interesting even for you who alreday are experienced, I read in it a lot and always find something new.

/Lars
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-09-2017, 01:32 PM
brian nordstrom's Avatar
brian nordstrom (As avatar)
Registered User

brian nordstrom is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth WA
Posts: 3,982
Thanks Lars , a great item and thanks again for posting.
Brian.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-09-2017, 06:24 PM
Astrofriend's Avatar
Astrofriend (Lars)
Registered User

Astrofriend is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 52
Hi Brian,
Thanks for your positive comments. You can find great and high quality answeres at Wikipedia and not only in English, a lot of other languages too. It was just that you don't have that overview that I want. That's way I created this linklist. And Wikipedia develops with help of people all over the world, and you can add or correct the answeres there too.

If there is some missing worlds in my list and there is an answere at Wikipedia, let me know!

/Lars
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-09-2017, 06:53 AM
brian nordstrom's Avatar
brian nordstrom (As avatar)
Registered User

brian nordstrom is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth WA
Posts: 3,982
I wonder if the Mod,s would consider putting the link as a Sticky ? .
Brian.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-09-2017, 07:01 AM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 20,510
Send a request PM to Mike directly.

RB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-09-2017, 03:04 PM
Regulus's Avatar
Regulus (Trevor)
Regulus - Couer de Leon

Regulus is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Devonport, Tasmania
Posts: 2,213
This is useful Lars, so thanks for the work you've done on this.

Trev
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-10-2017, 06:57 PM
veenus (Hannah)
Registered User

veenus is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
It's a great dictionary. I'm a beginner myself so I'm going to take a look I have only read a handful of books so far and watched a few documentaries here and there but I'm interested to learn even more!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-10-2017, 06:26 AM
Astrofriend's Avatar
Astrofriend (Lars)
Registered User

Astrofriend is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 52
You can learn a lot by reading the Wiki pages. It just can be a bit difficuld to find the answers.

I think I can stay reading at Wiki forever, when halfway throu the text you have four new pages to read. But I like it.

Thanks for the comments!

/Lars
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
astronomical dictionary, dictionary

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement