ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON New Moon
0.4%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
9:16 am
Perth
6:16 am
Auckland*
11:16 am
New York
5:16 pm
Paris
11:16 pm
GMT
10:16 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 2.90 average.
  #61  
Old 09-07-2009, 04:10 PM
shy4x4 (Jason)
I have scope envy

shy4x4 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
Hey all,

I have been a member for some time but this is the first time I have posted.

Not sure if its been posted before but Microsoft have a similar thing to google sky (the whole "atlas" is made up of very detailed photos of the sky). Its called World Wide Telescope and is fun to use with guided tours (great for beginners) with music added.

http://www.worldwidetelescope.org/Home.aspx

Enjoy

Jase
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 01-03-2017, 09:41 AM
dabbeldi
Registered User

dabbeldi is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Lilydale
Posts: 6
Free Star Atlas

Hi,

I notice this thread is stickied, but the latest posts are from 2009, with a lot of links not working.

I've come across this free star atlas: http://www.deepskywatch.com/deep-sky-hunter-atlas.html

It has stars down to magnitude 10.2 and DSOs down to magnitude 14. So it is really detailed. There's also a list of DSOs, which I have been using as a guide for what to look at.

I have not checked it's accuracy, but found it worth sharing. Let me know if any of you have experience with this atlas.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 01-03-2017, 04:09 PM
dabbeldi
Registered User

dabbeldi is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Lilydale
Posts: 6
This free star atlas seems have three versions with different level of detail (mag 9, 11 and 13): http://www.uv.es/jrtorres/triatlas.html
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 18-04-2017, 09:26 AM
Morgenstern (Alex)
Registered User

Morgenstern is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Lara, VIC
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabbeldi View Post
I've come across this free star atlas: http://www.deepskywatch.com/deep-sky-hunter-atlas.html
...
I have not checked it's accuracy, but found it worth sharing. Let me know if any of you have experience with this atlas.
I use this star atlas all the time and it's brilliant. Not messy with details but shows most of what you can see with 10-12 inch scope.
I printed it out on A3, laminated and bound with hinged rings exactly the way the author did http://www.deepskywatch.com/images/d...-printed-s.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 27-07-2017, 02:58 PM
cruxo (Craig)
Registered User

cruxo is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: kallangur
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabbeldi View Post
Hi,


I've come across this free star atlas: http://www.deepskywatch.com/deep-sky-hunter-atlas.html
This looks great. Thanks for the link.
Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement