View Single Post
Old 20-07-2019, 07:52 AM
Andy01's Avatar
Andy01 (Andy)
My God it's full of stars

Andy01 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,679
David Malin Award Winners & Results

(via John Sarkissian)

Earlier this evening, the winners of this year’s CWAS “David Malin Awards” were announced at a special presentation at the CSIRO Parkes Radio Observatory. A web site of the awards featuring pictures of the evening, will be prepared and posted in the coming days.

For the first time ever, we had joint overall winners. Congratulations to Phil Hart and Peter Ward. Their entries were of such outstanding quality, each in its own genre, that David was not able to split them.

Overall Winners:
This year we had two joint overall winners – the first time ever. They are:

“The Moon in Motion” – Phil Hart (Animations)

Citation: “A beautifully made series of sequences of the 2017 USA solar eclipse, set to suitably mysterious music. This is by far the finest video we have had submitted in the history of this competition, and the processing and presentation completely embraces both aesthetic and scientific realms with aplomb.”

“Stellar Cauldron” – Peter Ward (Deep Sky)

Citation: “This is a vivid and astonishing rendition of the well-known Orion nebula. While it's the vivid red of the ionized hydrogen that catches the eye, the picture also reveals the subtle texture and shading of the dusty regions around and within it. This is one of the finest images of this object that I have ever seen.”

Photo Editor’s Choice:
The winner of the Photo Editor’s Choice was:

“Moonbow Magic” – Luke Tscharke (Nightscapes)

The winning images by category are:

HM = Honorable Mention
HC = Highly Commended


Winner: “How small it makes me feel” – Austin Turpin

HC: “Things I never get to see” – Austin Turpin

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– ––––––––––––––

Winner: “Reach Out” – Steven Morris

HM: “Odin's Eye” – Jarrod Koh
HM: “Svalbard Illumination” – Alex van Harmelen
HM: “ltsi Mountains Aurora” – Phil Hart
HM: “Galactic Ghost” – Benjamin Alldridge
HM: “Moonrise in the Snowy Mountains” – Jan Breckwoldt

HC: “Branched Aurora” – Luke Tscharke
HC: “Lake Pamamaroo Star Trails” – Troy Casswell
HC: “Moonnbow Magic” – Luke Tscharke
HC: “Blue Lake” – Garry McDougall
HC: “Twilight Reflections” – Mark Polsen
HC: “No Roof Over My Head” – Jay Evans

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– –––––––––––––––

Winner: (and joint overall winner) “Stellar Cauldron” – Peter Ward

HM: “Eta Carina Nebula (NGC 3372)” – Peter Rejto
HM: “The Amazing Sombrero Galaxy” – Andrew Campbell
HM: “Rho Ophiuchi cloud complex” – Matthew Hudson
HM: “Thor's Helmet” – Andrew Campbell
HM: “The Jewels in Orion's Sword” – William Vrbasso

HC: “The Blue Angel” – William Vrbasso
HC: “Clouds of doubt” – Peter Ward
HC: “Flying Nebulas in the LMC” – Andrew Campbell
HC: “Ruby Galaxy” – Peter Ward
HC: “The Southern Pinwheel Galaxy” – Lee Borsboom
HC: “Large Magellanic Cloud Nebula LH120-No70” – Greg Bradley
HC: “Carina Nebula RGB data” – Diego Colonnello

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– ––––––––

Winner: “The Scorpion's Tail” – Troy Casswell

HM: “Argo Navis” – Peter Ward
HM: “The Witch Head Nebula in Eridanus” – Ross Giakoumatos
HM: “Magellanic Cloud Structures” – Troy Casswell
HM: “Jupiter Rides the Scorpion” – Troy Casswell

HC: “Andromeda Galaxy M31” – Ross Giakoumatos
HC: “The Dark Doodad Neighbourhood” – Ross Giakoumatos
HC: “Large Magellanic Cloud – HaLRGB” – Jarrod Koh
HC: “Scorpius” – Jarrod Koh

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– –––––––––––––-
THEME "Memories of Apollo"

Winner: “Lunar Generations” – Neil Creek

HM: “Earth, Moon and Mars” – Peter Patonai
HM: “Supermoon behind Opera House” – Matthew Hudson
HM: “Moon over Nobby's lighthouse” – Matthew Hudson
HM: “Tribute to Apollo 11” – Stephen Mudge

HC: “Moonrise over Nobby's” –Matthew Hudson
HC: “Montage of A Lunar Eclipse” – Jarrod Koh
HC: “Our Connection with the Heavens & Apollo 11” – Noeleen Lowndes

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– ––––––––

Winner: “Colourful Apennines” – Eddie Trimarchi

HM: “Touch The Sky – Trent McDougall
HM: “Streamers” – Phil Hart
HM: “Colourful Waning Gibbous Moon” – Eddie Trimarchi

HC: “Into the Shadow” – Peter Ward
HC: “The Christmas Comet of 2018” – Ross Giakoumatos
HC: “Peekaboo Moon” – Andy Casely
HC: “Oblate” – Paul Haese

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– ––––––––


Winner (and joint overall winner): “The Moon in Motion” – Phil Hart

HC: “Blood Moon” – Mitch Payne
HC: “Interstellar Impact” – Russell Wiltshire


HC: “Lunar Eclipse Animation – 31 Jan 2018” – Colin Legg

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– ––––––––

The Winners in each category were:

Deep: “Flying Nebulas in the LMC” – Andrew Campbell
Junior: “How small it makes me feel” – Austin Turpin
Night: overall winner! – “Moonbow Magic” – Luke Tscharke
Solar: “Colourful Waning Gibbous Moon” – Eddie Trimarchi
Theme: “Moonrise over Nobby's Lighthouse” – Matthew Hudson
Wide: “Andromeda Galaxy M31” – Ross Giakoumatos

___________________________________ ____

John M. Sarkissian OAM
Operations Scientist
ATNF Parkes Radio Observatory
CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science
Reply With Quote