PDA

View Full Version here: : Southern Cross Constellation & the Golden Ratio

FFoster6
07-11-2012, 12:01 AM
Hi I’m a student and just came across this observation so here goes…

:question:I was studying the Golden Mean / Golden Proportion / Phi (whatever you want to call it) and I was looking at the half section of a shell which is regularly used to explain the golden proportion. To stylise the shell I started putting dots along its spiral curve and then I noticed that the dots that were placed converging towards the centre of the shell spiral looked like the Southern Cross constellation.

I got a pic of the Southern Cross and compared it to the proportions in the shell spiral and it looks as though its stars are exactly scaled and could fit along the curve of the shell which is supposed to be a Fibonnachi curve.

I would really appreciate if any of you (more experienced in maths and astronomy than me – probably all of you), in this forum could please check this out. I will try to upload a pic of the spiral shell with the dots.

Maybe I haven’t looked at this correctly but from what I see it sure looks awesome. I love looking at the stars and everything around me. The universe and our world is beautifully made!

Thank you for any time/effort you could spare to provide some answers to this observation.

Fiona Foster

Octane
07-11-2012, 01:03 AM
If you look at enough stars, you'll make out all sorts of shapes and what not.

A lot of them are referred to as asterisms. The Southern Cross is an asterism in itself.

In a few hundred (or thousand) years, the stars would have moved further apart (or closer) to each other, and the Southern Cross, as we know it today, will cease to exist.

H

FFoster6
07-11-2012, 09:38 AM
Hey thanks for your reply -
I'll be sad on that day... but depends on where I'll be viewing it (the SC) from, I guess... who knows what tomorrow may bring...

mental4astro
07-11-2012, 09:39 AM