PDA

View Full Version here: : Sources of Power for multiple bits of gear

iceman
02-05-2006, 06:28 AM
Ok i've got the "jump starter" battery from the car shop, and with the cigarette lighter adapter it does fine running either my EQ platform (which can also run on 8xAA's), or my 12v hair dryer.

I'm starting to think about adding a cooling fan and/or peltier cooling system, and so how to power them comes to mind.

Do I need a separate power source for each bit of gear? Is there a way to fork the power from the power pack so that you can plug in multiple cigarette lighter adapters?

Would I be best to just get a cheap 12v gel cell or something to run the cooling fan? Both the EQ platform and 12v hair dryer need the cigarette plug input.

I'm a newbie when it comes to power type things so be gentle and talk slowly :)

Thoughts and advice appreciated.

[1ponders]
02-05-2006, 08:00 AM
Maybe RB can build you one of his power stations (http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=8150)Mike. Looked ike he could run half of Sydney of it.

iceman
02-05-2006, 08:06 AM
I'd love one! I'd be the envy of the Kulnura gang ;)

But I imagine it would be too costly, since it has a large truck battery, an inverter and all sorts of bits and pieces. Plus, RB has a lot on his plate and I'm sure he doesn't need me putting more onto it.. cause he's such a nice guy he'd probably say yes ;)

RB
02-05-2006, 10:52 AM
It is hard for me to say no Mike but you're right atm I'm flat out.
I've had to say no to a few other people's requests for bits'n'pieces too.

The power box I think is overkill for you and it's expensive.

As I understand it you only need 12v right?

The first option is to look at getting a 12v cig lighter double adaptor like this one from Jaycar (http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=PP2006&CATID=35&keywords=&SPECIAL=&form=CAT&ProdCodeOnly=&Keyword1=&Keyword2=&pageNumber=&priceMin=&priceMax=&SUBCATID=466) or such.