PDA

View Full Version here: : Saxon Maksutov-Cassegrains? Hi

Scel
11-08-2012, 05:06 PM
Hi
I'm looking at upgrading from my Guan Sheng 8" Dob to something on an equatorial or GOTO mount for easier viewing of DSO's and occasionally moon and planets. I am considering a number of options including an equatorial platform or GEM for my existing OTA, however I've seen some cheap Maksutov-Cassegrains around and wondered if anyone had any experience with Saxon's 15019 (see link below).

http://www.saxon.com.au/products/product-details.php?productid=10247

Can anyone comment on the quality of Saxon scopes (even if you have only had general experience with them, but especially if you have used their Muk-Cas systems)?

I have never used the catadioptric scope before - is there a noticeable difference in image quality compared with a good newtonian? Or is the main advantage of the design mobility/storage.

Any advise is much appreciated.

Astro_Bot
11-08-2012, 10:36 PM
I have an 8" Saxon Maksutov-Cassegrain on a GEM. I think it's a pretty good scope for the money. The focal length is long at 2500mm for me, so not for wide angle use - even with a 42mm 65 deg AFOV eyepiece, that's still only 1.0 degrees TFOV at 60X. For the one you're looking at (FL = 1900mm), that same eyepiece would get you 1.4 deg TFOV at 45X. It excels at the other end, though, with a modest 6mm eyepiece giving you over 300X (on the rare nights seeing permits) or a 9mm giving 200X, etc.