PDA

View Full Version here: : Ideas for university astronomy course.

ed9428
30-07-2012, 11:32 AM
Hi all.

Thought I would tap into the vast source of ice in space member knowledge if I could.

I am a first year physics student at Newcastle University (NSW). I am currently doing an intro to astronomy course and have been given an assignment. I am in no way looking for answers, data or anything like that, just some ideas of where to start. The assignment is written below in bold.

Pick an interesting object in space and write a short essay (4 pages ~1200 words) outlining what is currently known about it. Where possible describe how observations of the object help explain or test the fundamental laws of physics. Also give a description of how you would go about making observations of this object using the Physics Department equipment. The feasibility of making these observations should be paramount. If necessary the observations could be part of a longer time scale such as a year. ALL references should be properly cited.

(Extra merit will be given for observations in which actual measurements can be made and Physical Laws tested.)

The equipment we have available is –
Meade™ LX200R (200 mm) telescope with GOTO control and tracking
Coronado™ Solarmax40 (40 mm) H-alpha Solar Telescope
8mm, 26mm and 32mm Plössl eyepieces
Various coloured filters.
Astronomix™ O-III and H-beta deep-sky filter
JMB™ neutral density filter (200mm) for looking at the Sun
A Meade™ Lunar Planetary Imager (CCD camera and image stacking software)
A Meade™ Deep Sky Imager (high light sensitivity CCD camera)

Canon™ EOS600D digital SLR camera (and hardware to attach to telescope)

Again, I am not after data just ideas. I am looking forward to doing the research myself.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers, Kris.

tlgerdes
30-07-2012, 12:34 PM
Hi Kris,