PDA

View Full Version here: : 8" GoTo Dob on a Wedge to stop Field rotation Can it be done?

backman
15-06-2012, 06:52 PM
Hi Guys, I'm new to Iceinspace. I have a DIY question for any one that can help me. I have a 8" GoTo Skywatcher Dob, And I have just got into Astrophotography which I am enjoying greatly. I am building a home observatory with a roll off roof so I can do some imaging at home as I have limited time and I would like to permanently mount my Dob to a pier I have made inside my Observatory so I can leave it set up. And I don't particularly want to spend a $1000+ on a EQ mount so I can stop field rotation. (call me frugal but my funds are limited) .
My scope as you know already has GoTo drive so I was wondering if there is any way I can change the set-up to think it is an EQ drive instead of an AZ? I think that's right

I can easily make a wedge to mount the Dob this in no problem at all The thing that is puzzling me is, My friend has a LX200 on a fork mount and when he puts it on a wedge he just changes the setting in the hand controller to the other mode( as far as i'm aware) But mine doesn't have this function.

I hope this all makes sense

Any ideas would be great thanks. Ps I have also posted this in the Diy forum please forgive me if I am not supposed to.

Clive:)

Shark Bait
16-06-2012, 08:13 AM
I was at a Kilcoy dark sky weekend and saw an Aqua-torial setup that used controlled water release from a bladder to allow for longer exposure photos. It was constructed for a very small amount of money. The owner of this rig is a member on IIS but is more of a reader than a poster.

Any chance of some photos and information H?

Satchmo
16-06-2012, 08:38 AM
You would need to build an equatorial tracking platform. Needs to be fairly precision build - for an 8 inch you would be better off buying an Heq5 and have all the computer control features. Astronomy is not the best hobby to be in if you do not want to spend money :)