PDA

View Full Version here: : review wanted: celestron vs mead

catweazel
01-03-2012, 05:19 PM
hello
i'm after a large cat
has anyone any experiance with both a Celestron C11 and a mead 10-12" goto ?
i've read lots of review on each, but no direct comparisons between the 2.
primary use will be visual (may look at photography in the future), looking at galaxies, planets and nebulae.

I'm a beginner, but want to start with something respectable and fairly easy to setup.

thanks

blink138
01-03-2012, 08:04 PM
i think they are much of a muchness, i personally have a c11, but it is not that comfortable being taken in and out, a bit of a drag really!
if portability is a high priority then the 8 inch of either model will be much easier
you can get both either fork mounted (great for visual) or on a GEM (german equatorial mount) which is a great visual and astro photo platform
pat

Merlin66
01-03-2012, 08:52 PM
I've been using the 10" and 12" Lx200 on a wedge for years.
De-forking the 10" and using on the NEQ6 was great.
Unfortunately this is almost impossible with the 12" - far to heavy!
I recently got a C11 (to fit the NEQ6 mount) and I'm very impressed with it. Far lighter OTA and excellent optics.
IMHO I'd go with a C11.

Poita
01-03-2012, 10:09 PM
I can't comment on the Goto, but I have a Meade 10" ACF that I am currently selling, and have had it side by side with a standard C11 (not the edge HD) and everyone on the night preferred the view through the 10".
But it is hard to say, mine may have been collimated better, or reached temp earlier or many other factors could have been at play. The Coma Free optics do work as advertised though.

The 10" Meade weighs about the same as the C11 though, so they are both heavy at around 12KG, the ACF optics really did seem a step up from the standard SCT, plus the mirror lock is great for imaging.

I wil be able to compare a Celestron 9.25HD to the Meade within a week or so, weather permitting, as I will have both in house.