PDA

View Full Version here: : IOS 5 update

Visionoz
13-10-2011, 02:41 PM
Anyone here has updated their iPhone 4 to IOS 5 and not have any issues since its release?

Cheers
Bill

Poita
13-10-2011, 02:43 PM
No issues so far. They really seemed to address the issues that drove me nuts on the iPhone.
I'm a developer and have been playing with it for a little while now.

Like all updates though, plug your phone in and let is sync and backup first.
That way if anything goes wrong, you just do a restore and you are back where you were before the update - no dramas.

tlgerdes
13-10-2011, 04:45 PM
If it loads on OK you seem to fine, lots of reports of the upgrade process not going to plan, even to the extent of creating iBricks.

I would wait a couple of days to let the hysteria and the load on Apples servers die down.

Omaroo
13-10-2011, 04:53 PM
I tried early this morning and it failed on both my iPhone 4 and iPad. Nothing damaged at all - just failed to verify with their server. I put it down to 5 times ten to the twelth people flogging their servers today, because Lion also had upgrades as did many apps such as iTunes, iWork and others - and they were all released on the same day. Wow - across all their major platforms. Hectic or what! LOL

I'm putting many of the bricked iPhones out there down to sheer impatience - and people trying to restart or disconnect before it was ready. Mine failed, as I said, but the failure did not affect the devices at all - it occurred pre-restore.

Well, I tried again this afternoon and although a 64Gb iPad with about 52Gb of data on it took over an hour and a half, it went smoothly and ended up with a brand new iOS5 sitting on it. My phone is nearly done too. The process is a full backup/flush/upgrade/restore jobbie - so it does take its sweet time. Have a lie down and come back when it's done.

iOS5 is quite loverly! Love the split iPad keyboard...

:thumbsup:

Chillie
13-10-2011, 04:59 PM