PDA

View Full Version here: : Photo Shop Assistance

PCH
27-09-2011, 01:49 PM
Hi All,

I have a copy of PS CS5 Extended. I'm wondering if I can use it to create 3D images like the one in the attached file.

Is anyone who's familiar with PS able to point me in the right direction, tell me which chapter or section of the help file to look at - or even tell me if this can be done or not with PS. I'm not concerned with the design on this particular 3D object - I'm just trying to give the idea.

I'm not experienced at all with PS, I've bought it primarily cos one of the kids fancies experimenting with in, and I'd heard what a great product it was and thought I wouldn't mind playing myself.

All pointers gratefully received. :thumbsup:

multiweb
27-09-2011, 02:42 PM
Yes you can fake 3D in PS, since version 3 I believe. You need a vector graphic to start with or import a 3DS file into a layer. There are 3D tools now in PS that will allow you to rotate and extrude a shape with basic shading and lighting.
Create a vector shape with the 'Custom Shape Tool' then create a 3D layer: 3D>New 3D postcard from Layer. This will create the 3D layer.

With the layer selected click on the 3D Mesh icon to open the 3D mesh toolset. From there you have access to all the transforms.

That should get you started.

PCH
27-09-2011, 03:56 PM
Hi Marc

thanks so much for that. I'll see how far I get with it and let you know :thumbsup:

ZeroID
28-09-2011, 06:44 AM
I know it's not quite te same thing but have you had a look\play at Google SketchUp ? It's more a design tool\application but actually quite capable even in the Free version and once you have the hang of it (not too hard) quite fun. I've been using it to try various Observatory plans and even managed a 3D of the Serrurier scope build for placement purposes.
Your kids might like playing with that as well, 3d wire or surface modelling, surface textures, abilty to rotate around the object, curved shape control.