PDA

View Full Version here: : 5" refractor for photographing planets

C.
26-02-2006, 01:04 AM
Hello
I was wondering if any of your members are taking planetary photos using a 5" refractor. I do not have an astronomy group in my area and will be buying a telescope without having the opportunity to look through one first. I would feel much more at ease about the deal if I could see what is possible with this size telescope first. Sorry if it's not enough info, I am very new at this.

asimov
26-02-2006, 01:28 AM
Hi & welcome to IIS.

I have a 6" refractor, & I use it solely for photographing planets. have a look in the solar system part of this forum to see what a 6" can do.

C.
26-02-2006, 01:54 AM
Thank you for the welcome and reply Asimov. I've just had a quick look at a Saturn and Jupiter shot of yours and they are terrific. Tomorrow night I will go through the gallery and check out all of your images (my internet is about to cut out).

Do you have any idea how close a 5" would come to that kind of detail? I realise I would have a huge amount to learn about telescopes and prime photography, but I don't want to spend a heap of money if I'm never going to get a decent result.

I'm thinking of a s/hand 5" refracter on a new EQ5 mount using a manual film SLR with MLU.

Any help appreciated.

asimov
26-02-2006, 02:22 AM
I would suspect a 5" would come close to what I can get with the 6" but I'm not sure.

I can tell you straight out an achromatic refractor is not an easy thing to get good planet shots with. The main problem being getting natural colours, all to do with the design of the lens system a achromatic refractor has.

In all honesty I suggest getting a reflector or an apochromatic refractor for astrophotography!

I only received a special filter today to combat this colour problem, & I'm testing it right now to see what will happen, so I may alter my opinion on this shortly! (& I may not too!)

davidpretorius
26-02-2006, 05:05 AM
got a budget C?

Robert_T