PDA

View Full Version here: : Retirement of the LXD55 - New G11 Coming

midnight
21-06-2011, 05:03 PM
After many years of service, my LXD55 will be retired by months end. I have just ordered a G11 with Gemini 2 and this will arrive next week thanks to a colleague of mine returning from the US via Business class (60+kG allowance).

The Meade has been one of many frustrations yet once you know its inner workings, it worked very well for a mount that you can get for about $700. I have had some experience with the G11 recently and this is what sold me. The stability and simplicity of the mount structurally sold me. Although Gemini?? - mmm - I am going to miss Autostar.

The LXD55 was probably the mount Meade wanted to forget and quickly got replaced by the LXD75 which has a better bearing system. But this mount taught me a lot as I had to learn the hard way earlier. I eventually got autoguiding going, remote connection going etc, PEC and I managed to get some really nice tracking out of it. The only problem was the mount was very easily subject to vibrations and slight wind and a relatively noisy (tracking wise) motor system. And it was quite awkward to carry around.

I have had the LXD55 on the back of a trailer from Perth to Sydney (and back) through dust, rain, used it as an emergency shelter during one camping expedition (with tarp of course!), it's missing bolts, labels, dropped a few times and sunk once into mud etc but still works!

Fond memories of yee ol faithful.:(

cheers,
Darrin...

robz
21-06-2011, 05:26 PM
Congrats Darrin!:thumbsup:
Glad to hear you really got some use out of that mount. The G11 will take you to bliss!!!;)

TrevorW
22-06-2011, 08:18 PM
When you get the G11 join the Yahoo user group there are a number of software issues with it , recently there has been a beta firmware upgrade

midnight
24-06-2011, 01:12 AM