PDA

View Full Version here: : I would like to acquire a small equatorial mounted scope as a grab scope

overlord
13-05-2011, 06:49 PM
I have never used an equatorial mount before. what are the suggestions. Hope it's ok to post here on a newby topic, but i'm not really a newbe, well maybe actually i am when it comes to equatorial mounts.

Basically I need heavy mag to see the planets during nice seeing. My Dobby cannot do that. 300x and ZOOOOM! :eyepop:

overlord
13-05-2011, 06:50 PM
Also i am wondering how much it costs to attach a simple traditional 'clock drive' to one of these things. i don't really want this fancy goto stuff. see, i am a hunter and the sky is my prey

Screwdriverone
13-05-2011, 07:31 PM
Hi Chucky,

I am a bit intrigued when you say your dob cant do high mag?? most dobs have a focal length over 1000mm, generally 1200mm or 1500mm. Now with a refractor, the focal length is usually 900mm or lower, so in both cases, you will only get about 300x mag on a planet with say a 10mm eyepiece and a 3x barlow.....

As for a relatively simple EQ mount with clock drive, take a look at say Andrews comms for an EQ2 or EQ3 with RA motor as this will be enough for basic tracking...my Eq2 is quite portable, but still heavy with the counterweights. Pop a refractor on that or a short tube reflector (parabolic mirror only) and you have a niceish grab and go.

Refractors are more expensive per mm of aperture so if its details on planets you want, aperture rules and price per mm, dobs cant be beaten. What size is your dob? If it is 200mm or more, you should be able to get in close around 300x depending on the seeing for details on Mars, Jupiter and Saturn, but only get discs looking at Venus, Neptune and Uranus due to the cloud tops on these ones.

Cheers

Chris

Fox
13-05-2011, 07:52 PM