PDA

View Full Version here: : The Light bridge between LMC and Milky Way?

timokarhula
12-11-2010, 02:01 AM
I think this forum is perfect for my question. I'm an amateur astronomer from Sweden who regularly makes a trip to Western Australia, because I have an apartment in Geraldton after my late father. Last year, in November - December, I made a trip 130 kms to the inland where light pollution is unknown. :D My naked eye limiting magnitude was 7.9 and the SQM-L meters showed 22.09 magnitude per square arc-seconds! For the first time in 13 trips south of the equator, I observed a bridge of light between the LMC and our Milky Way. I have written a lengthy article of my astro-trip for the Deep-Sky Observer magazine of the Webb Society which will be published this winter or next spring. Here is an excerpt from my article:

"The light bridge of the Large Magellanic Cloud

The journey’s most exciting and unexpected sky phenomenon that we observed, was without a doubt, the light or materia bridge (as I call it) of the Large Magellanic Cloud, LMC. It is not even scientifically studied yet and only a handful of people have reported it in the literature! Lowell astronomer, Brian Skiff, confirmed my description of the ’thing’ and he had seen the bridge from Las Campanas observatory in Chile. US amateur, David Riddle, had noticed this bridge while being in Namibia. Apparently, the first who reported this light bridge in the astronomical literature was the Russian born astronomer Sirgay Gaposchkin in his article The Visual Milky Way in Vistas in Astronomy, vol. 3. He had sketched the object from Mt. Stromlo observatory while he scrutinized the southern Milky Way during the years 1956-57. Isn’t it strange that only northern observers have reported this phenomenon when they have visited the southern hemisphere?