PDA

View Full Version here: : Brief review of Planewave CDK17

gregbradley
28-09-2010, 06:07 PM
I have been using my Planewave CDK17 now for a few months and have gotten a feel for it now.

I thought I would write it up as others are looking at getting one these scopes.

It is called a CDK as that stands for corrected Dall Kirkham. Corrected as it has a doublet corrector
just before the focuser that corrects aberrations. The Dall Kirkham design has been made famous by Takahashi with their
Mewlon series. The problem with Dall Kirkham is offaxis aberrations. Hence the narrow corrected field of a Mewlon (I believe Tak has brought out a reducer or corrector now for the Mewlons). Corrected Dall Kirkham is a popular design for astrographs these days with several manufacturers making one. The main mirror is like a Newt so it is easy for the manufacturer to make one very accurately and to a high standard which is good to know. By contrast RC mirrors are harder to make.

Firstly, fit and finish is good. The carbon fibre bits are very nicely done and the aluminium parts etc all seem very well made.
I can't fault the fit and finish except the electronic focuser has cable ties and wires and could do with a nice case to hide all that. Its a bit exposed. Luckily it works well so all is forgiven.

The focuser is very good in that it has a bevel gear and drive shaft with another bevel gear that moves the focuser in and out. I see the focuser shaft has at least 6-8 roller bearings (it may be more) so the focuser moves smoothly which it seems to do. As a result there appears to be no focuser flex which is good with a FLI Proline 16803 and filterwheel (about the heaviest camera you can get) and an offaxis guider. So that is holding about 15lbs of weight without any trouble.

The supplied adapter works well once I worked out how it went together
(it is in 3 parts and they screw together in a clever way, a bit of a jigsaw puzzle though).