PDA

View Full Version here: : What's a good mount to replace a Tak NJP?

gregbradley
10-08-2010, 07:42 AM
I have been using a Tak NJP mount for several years now. It is a great mount. But my TEC180fl is pushing its weight limits to the max.

So I am looking to upgrade it. Not straight away but in the not too distant future.

What is a high end mount that could handle a TEC180 (the NJP can but its a bit undermounted for that scope)?

The obvious brands are AP (AP1200), Bisque (they are bringing out a mini ME).

I wonder how the ASA and other unique mounts are coming along.

Greg.

renormalised
10-08-2010, 01:18 PM
Mini ME...sound like Austin Powers:):P

Anyway...have you had a look at the Chronos (http://www.chronosmount.com/) mounts. They're not cheap, but they'd be an excellent choice, I think.

Or have you looked at these Parallax GEMS (http://www.parallaxinstruments.com/mount.htm)

Zaps
10-08-2010, 04:39 PM
How about the EM-400 or EM-500? :)

gregbradley
10-08-2010, 05:38 PM
I like Tak mounts but an EM400 is really only a slightly beefed up NJP.
EM500 are quite expensive.

Also I want to use PEC and Tak mounts don't allow that so whatever PE they have thats what you get. Their native PE is quite low though. The beauty of them of course is ease of use.

I don't know that Tak has a mount in the same class as Paramount or AP1200.

Greg.

RB
10-08-2010, 05:45 PM
Agreed Greg.

The EM400 is a wonderful mount, straightforward to use, excellent performance but for your payloads it just not enough.
I was tempted by the EM500 but it's a bit too big for my needs.

The AP1200 would be wonderful.

gregbradley
10-08-2010, 05:45 PM
The Chronos sounds good but US$25,000 plus shipping plus GST is around 2 or 3 2nd hand Paramount MEs or more.

Greg.

gregbradley
10-08-2010, 05:48 PM