PDA

View Full Version here: : Collimating 10" GSO Dob..

barees63
25-12-2005, 01:53 PM
Hi there,

I'm a newbie from NZ with a new GSO 10" DOB and I'm having some fun with collimation, I bought a laser collimator with my scope (but have since ordered the CATSEYE collimation kit and a Techron sight-tube).. in the meantime I have a question about collimating with the laser (I have asked this on another forum but I'm still confused :confuse2: ), I have centre-spotted the mirror using a paper template (ie. removed primary and traced around it, folded template into cone, snipped off end placed over mirror and stuck a ring in the middle as accurately as possible), I have collimated the laser using a V-jig and a wall about 20 feet away. I put the collimator in the focuser (a bit sloppy, added one layer of cellotape to collimator to try and tighten it up a bit), tightened the focusor setscrew as I would with an eyepiece then adjusted the secondary tilt until the dot was right in the centre of the primary mark. I then adjust the primary until the return beam goes back thru the hole in the collimator target. so far so good, now I take my home-made collimation cap (film canister) and look thru the focusor with it and the Primary center mark is off center by about 4-5mm vertically, if I adjust the primary so the mark appears dead center thru the collimation cap then the laser beam misses the target hole. Can anyone suggest the most likely problem? I know I'll be able to get a better collimation with the tools I've ordered but in the meantime would like to try and get it as good as possible with what I have.. Thanks for any advice! Bruce.

RAJAH235
25-12-2005, 04:42 PM
Hi, :hi: Bruce. :welcome: to the 'mad house'. MERRY CHRISTMAS.
Sounds like you are O.K. with the laser side of collimation. This is probably more accurate than 'mechanical centre', which is what you get with the film can cap.(correct here please guys?).