PDA

View Full Version here: : Looking for first ep's

Roobi
09-01-2010, 10:48 AM
Hi there
I'm looking to buy my first set of ep's. I have a celestron astromaster 130eq, and am thinking a 7mm and a 3 or 4 mm would be a good place to start. these would give me a magnification of 92x for the 7mm, 162x for the 4mm and 216x for the 3mm. I have contemplated a 2x barlow, but i dont think this will be the best for me as i have a 10mm and 20mm already, and so double up the 10mm with a barlow. Maybe later on though after i have some other ep's. Any advice would really be appreciated. And if anyones selling, please message me.
Cheers everyone

Roobi
09-01-2010, 11:32 AM
OH and ive just found what i think might be a good first buy: The nagler zoom 3mm-6mm. any thoughts on this one?

barx1963
09-01-2010, 01:30 PM
Roobi, remember maximum ususable mag is 50x per inch of aperture, so for a 5" scope 250x is maximum in perfect conditions, most of the time, much over 100x is getting hard. I do most (80%) of my observing at 67x and the rest at 113x and find these adequate. Many DSO are actually fairly large so don't need magnification, but are very faint.

The Nagler zoom is an expensive bit of kit, $450 + I think. As with most Televue products I am sure it is well made, but I would definitely seek an opinion from someone who has one. I have not seen many people with zoom EPs, I gather the main reason is that fixed focal length EPs are optimised for that length, while zooms inevitably involve a level of compromise.

astro744
10-01-2010, 12:27 PM
What apparent field of view are you after? 50deg, 60deg, 82deg, 100deg?

The Nagler Zoom is a very fine eyepiece and the ability to dial in any focal length between 3 & 6mm is a treat, (2-4mm Nagler Zoom also available). The AFOV stays at 50deg and the eyepiece is parfocal across the range. Eye relief is short but quite useable for non eyeglass wearers.