PDA

View Full Version here: : New Starmaster Super FX Dobs.

StarGazing
04-10-2009, 12:29 AM
Hi All,

Has anyone seen the new Super FX Dobs from Starmaster. F/3.3 Wow?????. Apparantly makes the dobs much shorter with the same performance with their regulat F/4.3 Dobs. :question:
Whats your say ?. I am new to Astronomy, 1 year and counting. Love my dob and look forward to upgrading in a year or so to a larger appeture(FEVER). Has anyone seen a Starmaster in action and if so how do they rate ????

Alex.:)

citivolus
04-10-2009, 03:16 AM
At such a low f/ratio, I would think you might be somewhat restricted in what eyepieces you could use. My understanding is that you would get kidney-beaning with a lot of them? Someone else will likely be able to elaborate on this, or let me know if I am wrong ;)

Satchmo
05-10-2009, 12:59 PM
I doubt as the optics are very expensive there will be much market penetration at this 'speed' .I know from experience their is a massive increase in the labor to aspherise these fast mirrors. You won't find the bigger vendors who supply Obsession ( Galaxy , OMI ) etc moving into this area any time soon.

Mirrors this fast need a special coma corrector. Al Nagler has produced a prototype Paracor for F3 to F4 mirrors. I think the standard Paracor works pretty well down to F3.7 and acceptably at F3.5.

Fast mirrors require much greater integrity of the telescope structure as the collimation needs to hold at different tube angles to a higher tolerance due to the very small sweet spot that must be kept on axis with the Paracor. Focusing tolerance is also much less.

All that being said, if the new Paracor goes into limited production it will be one more option for the advanced observer to own.

GrahamL
05-10-2009, 04:38 PM
http://www.starmastertelescopes.com/

There sure is a bit of bump in the price for the fast ones mark
pretty hand height for a 22" by that pic . :)

erick
05-10-2009, 04:59 PM
Why f3.3?

Is it:-

* More compact