PDA

View Full Version here: : focuser

ving
13-01-2005, 04:49 PM
when focusing while looking thru the scope it moves the image around, yes? a motor on the focuser stopt you clumsy hands from bumping things sooooo.....

seeing that my gso dob comes with a cheap focuser i have decided to see if i can motorise it.... I am no expert but worst case scenario is that i have to buy a new focuser...

any sugestions are welcome.

wish me luck. i have no idea how long this will take to complete

Starkler
13-01-2005, 06:13 PM
The scope moves and wobbles because of the force you have to exert on the focuser knob just to turn it.

Have you tried stripping the focuser down, cleaning out the gunky glue grease and regreasing with something a bit more viscous? This helps a lot.

You can also adjust the tension with the four screws on the bottom plate under the focuser shaft. The tradeoff here is extra slop.

If all this doesnt produce satisfactory results, consider upgrading the focuser. I reckon motorising the stock gso dob focuser is pretty extreme .

mch62
13-01-2005, 06:48 PM
Totally agree , invest in a descent focuser of the Crayford design.
It's going to cost a bit and a motorised one even more but you will appreciate a good focuser .
Trying to motorise a rack and pinion could be done and most probably has , but they still suffer the rock and roll in the draw tube, and the reduction is coarse as compared to a Crayford design.
I don't think there is much point in going motorised when you still have to be hands on to push the tube.

wavelandscott
13-01-2005, 07:24 PM
Sounds like an interesting project...I am interested in how it works but have no helpful suggestions to make...

It does remind me of an old old story I heard about a young man who was looking for advice on what business to start...he was told to look in the phone book at the listings, take the first thing he was interested in and find a way to automate it...