PDA

View Full Version here: : Cheap Astrophotography

EcoRI
19-08-2009, 04:53 PM
Hi all,

I've been a keen amateur astronomer for some time now, but I want to make the transition to astrophotography. I've been trying to find some web based links for a dirt cheap way of getting into it. That way I have not wasted $1000's if I find out its not my cup of tea.

My initial interest in this was due to a basic book published in 1991 by Bruck titled 'Exercises in practical astronomy using photographs'. Well I've gone through the exercises and want to apply the techniques to my own photos. I'm assuming that 20 year old technology may be purchased for a small cost nowdays (well I hope).

If anyone can post some links or offer some advice it would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Greg

PCH
19-08-2009, 05:10 PM
Hi Greg,

I've listed below all the known links that show dirt cheap ways of getting into AP ...

1)
2)
3)
4)
5)

Getting the idea ;)

However, for really expensive ways of getting into AP, there will be enough suggestions to fill a wheel barrow. All the best :thumbsup:

renormalised
19-08-2009, 05:25 PM
What's that....cheap astrophotography???:eyepop::P:D
Unless you stick to lunar and planetary stuff (and even here you can spend big), where you can get away with spending less than $600 on a good imager (Celestron NexImage...$300, DMK21...$600), it will start to bite hard in the hip pocket. Let's consider a baseline setup...

SWED100Pro...$899
EQ6Pro mount...$1999
Orion ST80 Guidescope (with rings and mount plate) $350
QHY5 autoguider....$380