PDA

View Full Version here: : Mirror Life expectancy in a Schmidt-Cassegrain

Stardumb
28-07-2009, 12:37 PM
Hello stargazers,

As a newbie, I am going through that phase that obviously you all once went through regarding purchasing your first scope.

As much as I would love to buy a new scope, being unemployed, I need to be a bit frugle when it comes to spending money on an instrument. Hence, I probably will end up buying a second hand `scope`.

I have read all the relevant guides regarding choosing a scope, but would like some clarification regarding the mirror life expectancy, in particular of Schmidt-Cassegrain design telescopes.

Most of the sellers of second scopes, quote that the scope has had limited useage . If a Schmidt-Cassegrain scope was say, 9 years old, with extremely limited use, could I expect that the mirror would still be in good condition? How could I check/test for imperfections in the mirror coating of a Schmidt-Cassegrain?:shrug:

regards,

Nigel

erick
28-07-2009, 12:43 PM
I get the feeling that it depends on the quality of the original mirror. I bought a many-hand C8 that is probably early 80s vintage. It would seem to be the original mirror, unchanged. I think it looks great and performs well.

I understand that SCTs, being enclosed, should keep their primary and secondary mirrors in good condition for longer than reflectors - presuming the inside is kept dry and moisture isn't allowed to build up?

Edit:- put the call out for an expert from the site to come with you to check out a prospective purchase?

astroron
28-07-2009, 02:34 PM
I bought My SCT 8" in the USA in September 1990 and the mirror is as good as the day it was purchased.
I have observed with it over a couple of Thousand hours over the last nearly 19 years :scared: and it is still in good nick:D:thumbsup:
So to answer your question, there should be no problem with an old SCT if it has been looked after:thumbsup:
Cheers

Blue Skies
28-07-2009, 11:24 PM