PDA

View Full Version here: : Motor drive for an EQ-3 mount..HELPPP..

Jen
15-07-2009, 10:39 PM
HI Guys :hi::hi::hi:
I recently ordered one of these through the stoopid camera house shop here about three months ago and i still dont have it grrrrr so i told them to forget it :poke:so anyway.....
Now that i have looked at a few on line im confused :doh:whats the difference besides price :screwy: between the dual axis and the single axis drives and i found another that looks totally different is there a right or wrong one to go for :D
Some lovely hints from you guys would be very appreciated
here are the links that i have been looking at ;)

http://www.myastroshop.com.au/products/details.asp?id=MAS-105
http://www.ozscopes.com.au/skywatcher-dual-axis-eq3-motor-drive.html
http://www.yorkoptical.com.au/Home/tabid/36/ProductID/147/Default.aspx?utm_source=getprice&utm_medium=cpc

Jen xo

chrisp9au
15-07-2009, 10:55 PM
Hi Jen,

I'm not an expert on these things, but I do have the dual axis drive for the EQ-3 mount. I quickly found that it is a bit of a pain! You can't slew the scope any faster than 8 times tracking speed, which is sloooow! I now find that it is easier to just fit the RA drive for tracking and use the manual control for the declination axis. The RA drive tracks very accurately but the hand paddle only really allows you to move, very slowly, to center objects, and to scan around the surface of the moon.

In short, I could have saved money by buying just the single axis drive, maybe you could save some as well.

And now that I have a 12" dob, I'm not using the EQ-3 very much at all!

Cheers :thumbsup:
Chris

[1ponders]
15-07-2009, 11:02 PM
Unless you plan to mod the dual axis drive hand paddle so you can autoguide (there are simple kits available) I agree with Chris. Stick to the single axis RA drive. Mine works a treat. Mines even good enough for shortlongish (or longshortish) :P widefield shots without adjusting the dec if you polar align well enough.

Jen