PDA

View Full Version here: : Autoguide, CGE1400

cpt cooties
13-04-2009, 02:06 PM
HELLO:help:
I want to auto guide my CGE1400 and have a question on how it all should be hooked up

Main scope CGE 1400
Main scope controlled via THE SKY V6 through scope hand controller
Guide scope G5" SCT or 80mm short tube refractor
Guide camera 1st option Celestron Neximage(USB)
2nd option Orion Starshoot autoguider(?)
Guide software Guidedog or PHD Guide 191

also useing ASCOM

I use THE SKY v6 which is installed on my computer which is connected to the telescopes hand controller via COMMS port 1 on the computer.
I have the guide software installed and talking to the camera(Neximage).
Do i need a cable to connect from the CGE autoguide port to the computer aswell or will it all work through the Comms port 1 connection i have already, The computer has 2 more comms ports should they be needed and multiple USB ports.

Im new to the autogude thing and have not yet built my observatory to house the setup, soon i will set it all up in the garage to test the whole shee-bang out, but before i do i thought someone may be able to let me know if i need any extra cables or software etc...
Any tips or pointers that help me before i throw myself into the deep end are greatfully apreciated.

Thanks to all:thumbsup:

Paul Haese
13-04-2009, 06:39 PM
By looking at you equipment, you need to have a guide port interface such as a GPUSB from Shoestring astronomy. Without the interface you cannot send signals to the guide port on the mount.

gbeal
13-04-2009, 06:52 PM
I am sure Paul is correct. In my case I plug the auto-guide cable direct from the mount to the QHY5, but in your case I guess a cable of some description is required.
Gary

cpt cooties
13-04-2009, 07:11 PM
Thank you for your response. I also found out that BINTEL a Australian scope shop sells Shoestring Astro products....

Shoestring Astronomy provides you with two options!

USB port guiding using the GPUSB product