PDA

View Full Version here: : Laser collimator out of collimation?

Robh
27-03-2009, 02:39 PM
I'm new to IceInSpace, so I don't know if anyone's brought this up before.
My previous telescope was a refractor. A few years ago, I bought a 12" Meade truss DOB and they recommended I use a laser collimator for quick collimation of the telescope. It was quite a while before I realised the laser collimator I was using (supposedly factory alligned) was itself out of collimation! And no, I have never dropped it!
I now use a cheshire for the final collimation but I was wondering how many people out there use a laser collimator and have ever bothered to check it for collimation.
Warning! With the laser on, make sure before you look down the telescope tube that the laser beam hasn't missed the secondary mirror and isn't shooting out the main tube! Holding the collimator firmly against the focuser draw tube and rotate it 360 degrees. If it's way out, the laser red dot will be seen to rotate in a circular path on the primary mirror. That's what mine did.
The instructions for the laser collimator basically says "do not fiddle with".
However, this is rubbish and I successfully collimated mine.
Go here, if you want to check or adjust your collimator ...

http://www.cloudynights.com/item.php?item_id=520

GeoffW1
27-03-2009, 03:36 PM
Hi,

Yes, I made one just like this, it works well for me.

There has been a lot posted here on IIS on the subject, so you may be interested to read about it.

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/search.php?searchid=1025187

Some laser collimation units are manufactured to be very robust, and are said not to require regular collimation themselves, although they cost a bit more. I have no experience with those.

I have the cheaper kind of unit from Bintel

https://www.bintelshop.com.au/Product.aspx?ID=6737

and have found this with it:

- the laser dot actually is an oval, an effect of the simple pen laser unit in it