PDA

View Full Version here: : Binoculars for DSO and comets

Tico
02-02-2009, 03:35 AM
Hello,

I am looking some opinions on giant binoculars for observing comets and DSO, I have looking some models like 15X70,20X80,20X90 or maybe 25X100 or 30X100(also thers is more huge binoculars,but prized for me).

If anyone have proved or compared some of this binoculars your opinions or advices are welcome.

Thank you very much,
Sincerely,
Paul

Davekyn
02-02-2009, 08:02 AM
Hi Paul,
Welcome to the site...I am only new here myself but have found the place really helpfull. I'm no pro but don't mind learning. Here is my 2cents worth...Basically here is a coppy of what I sent you in PM in reference to the 20X90 I use to own.

The first thing you need to do with Bino’s of this size is obtain a Mount of some sort (even camera mount if necessary) & pick out a bright object like Jupiter and see how much out of collimation they are. My 20X90 were out & I sent them back whereupon the store did not do a very good job at fixing them, so I sold them.