PDA

View Full Version here: : Help Meade 10' or Celestron 9.25?

Eardrum73
14-09-2005, 01:28 PM
Hi there,

I am a Newbie I have limited knowledge on telescopes. So I have turn to this forum for help, hopefully your opinions will help make my decision easier.:D

I am considering either a Meade 10' SCT or a Celstron 9.25' SCT. I like the weight and the hassle free gotos on these SCTs. (These goto's are not a hassle to use right???)
At this stage, I am using it for observational purposes only, not astrophtography. Hence the CGCs -9.25 and LR- 10' with lightweight mounts that will be release in the next couple of months will probably be the ones I would go for, since they are not as expensive as the LX200 or the Nexstar GPS.

I would also like to hear from members who have own or even looked through these these instruments. Given the same viewing conditions, How does the image of these telescopes compare to with other telescopes of the same apeture ? (say Dobs or schimdt newtonians... etc.)
You may not neccesarily own one, just having look through it and formed an opinion is sufficent for me. (if you had a chance to compare them both - even better!)

So I would like to know which one of these in your opinion - will go for and why? (or perhaps an alternative that fits the requirements)

Disclaimer - I am not looking to start a flame war between the Meades and the Celestrons, just merely on what experiences and opions members have had on these two.

Hopefully your opinion can make my decision easier!:thumbsup:

Cheers and clear skies!

janoskiss
14-09-2005, 01:44 PM
No danger of that around here. More likely between Dobbers and SCT-ers/GOTO-ers. :P