PDA

View Full Version here: : EQ6 Pro power supply

Babalyon 5
31-07-2008, 08:20 PM
Howdy all!
I've bitten the bullet and decided to upgrade my mount to an EQ6 Pro as Andrews Comm has them out for $1499 still, while Bintel and York are $1995 and locally here are $2700. I was told today when I ordered the mount that there is no plug in the wall power supply, you hafta use the power tank rechargeable power supply. It was referred to me that if I use a 240v ac to 12v dc power supply, I will blow it up. Whats the difference between a power tank at 12 volts and a plug in power supply regulated to 12v 3amp dc, for example, and what would be the reason I would blow it up, except for the obvious connector the wrong way around or excess voltage etc. I thought I had seen that the EQ6 Pro was rated at 11.5 to 14.4 volts (standard 12v system figures, I'm a mechanic)and if you had a power supply at say 5 amps, the unit only draws from the power unit what it needs, the extra amperage is just to cover it for slewing draw.
I also thought that I had seen somewhere in the forums here that some of you guys had ordered and use a plug in type supply. Need some feedback please!:help::shrug:

marki
31-07-2008, 08:44 PM
Not sure why anyone would tell you that? I have a HEQ5 pro which I run on a lab power pack rated to 30amps at 13.1 volts with no trouble at all. I would imagine any regulated 12V power supply capable of 3 - 5 amps would be OK. Centre pin positive and I believe the hand piece is reverse polarity protected in any case. Please correct me if I am wrong here.

Mark

ozstockman
31-07-2008, 09:53 PM
I think you're correct. At least I thought the same when I decided to buy 10Amp 12V power supply and 1 to 4 way cable with 2.5mm jacks in order to power more than one device from a single adapter.

I am using it with my EQ6 mount(1.5Amps) and QHY8 camera(4Amp) at the the time and nothing has been blown up so far.