PDA

View Full Version here: : Urban skywatching?

generalninja
23-07-2008, 10:53 AM
Hello, first time poster.
I think i would be classified as a total beginner. Ive been wanting a telescope for a long time, and been interested in astronomy since... forever.

Its a long time interest. so im prepared to spend up to $1000.

Im wondering what kind of telescope would i need to do deep-sky and planetary starwatching from an urban environment. i live in sydney, 30kms away from the city centre.

I was thinking about getting a 10" collapsable dob but im not sure, or should i get a Maksutov-Cassegrain?

i have no clue about equipment, all i know is my astronomy and my f/stop from my focal length.

OR maybe i should just get a 10x50 binoculars from Andrews for now?

astropolak
23-07-2008, 12:12 PM
Hi
You will get few responses here and I am sure most of them will recommend a 10" Dob, this is a perfect size scope to actually see a lot of sky objects with. Do not waste your money on a Mak or SCT unless you can spend $3k.
As for the eyepieces - try to get the shop to give you a little credit for the eyepieces they supply with the scope and get something decent.
Initially get a perhaps 2 eyepieces maybe 8mm and 20mm, 20mm Superview may be a good starting point, as for the 8mm choose something with long eye relief - this will rule out Plossl type ...

Check out other posts about eyepieces, they will give you the info your need to make informed decision..

Enjoy your sky watching !!

Joe

g__day
23-07-2008, 01:42 PM
I would suggest a 10" dob - I like the looks (rigidity) of the Meade Lightbridges Bintel sells for $899

https://www.bintelshop.com.au/Product.aspx?ID=7112

or the classic tube design for $599 with 3 eyepieces

https://www.bintelshop.com.au/Product.aspx?ID=6993

over the collapsible Skywatcher design Andrews Coms sells for $699

wavelandscott
23-07-2008, 06:56 PM