PDA

View Full Version here: : 12 inch Dob collimation?

doug_parkes
16-06-2008, 09:17 AM
hi Ice fellow Ice in Space members,

my brother bought a 12 inch Dob (it looks Taiwanese but I don't know the name/model/series information, unfortunately) and has had a lot of trouble collimating it.

I had a look at it (I have some experience with Dobs, having built a 381mm f5 Kriege & Berry Dob some years ago) and can see what he is getting at!

The primary mirror cell has three collimation screws and springs which screw up into threaded bosses within the movable section of the cell. But, 30° removed from each collimation screws are fitted locking screws (three in total).

How do you collimate this model?

The springs are just adequate to support the weight of the mirror but during collimation attempts the spring tension is sufficient to lift the mirror and ruin what collimation one has achieved? The instructions (which I have not seen) apparently advise the operator to back off the three locking screws and then simply work with the spring laden adjustment screws. Fair enough but as soon as one collimation screw is loosened the spring pushes the mirror up.

For collimation tools I use: a standard wire-crosshair Cheshire; a home-made 1.25" laser collimator; a 2" Kendrick laser collimator (with a 45° flat protruding into the tube and it also has a small removable built-in Barlow for the Barlowed-laser method); a star test when observing.

I also fit a small webcam to my computer and position the camera (by clamping it to one of the secondary spider vanes) so that I can see the returned laser spot projected onto the 45° flat on the end of the 2" laser collimator. It works really well. Collimation can be done by one person sitting at the primary mirror end, watching the red spot's progress on a laptop computer screen. I also collimate my Society's 400 mm Dob that way (with its 2511 mm focal length), sitting at the back of the mirror cell watching the laptop screen.