PDA

View Full Version here: : Optics or Aperture?

Podger
29-03-2008, 11:01 PM
Hi everyone,
I'm a newbie and this my first post. I currently have a 150mm x 750 Bintel Newtonian on a Bintel GEQ mount. I am going to buy a GoTo for general viewing (moon, planets, DSO), not too obsessive Astrophotography and Public Outreach use with a laptop. Important that it is portable - i.e 1 person can set up and take down easily. I reckon parts must be no more than 20kg preferred to 25 Kg max. I am down to a Celestron SGE 925XLT, Meade 10"LX90GPS or Meade LX200R 8". I am going off the SGE because too many bits to try to assemble/disassemble in the dark and total weight high. The Meades seem to be about the same weight, the LX90 has bigger aperture, LX200R better optics. Re Astrophotography, thinking of DSI II/III and a focal reducer - can this, with the software, overcome field rotation/ long exposure issues by auto aligning and stacking many short exposure shots? Is autoguiding necessary with this sort of set up? Is the 8" LX200R a better unit for these purposes than the 10" LX90GPS? Also I am not keen to mix and match OTA, mount, software etc. One stop shop preferred.
I have read all the Forums and seen heaps of great advice and information so look forward to comments.
Thanks, Rog

Zuts
30-03-2008, 12:00 AM
Hi,

Your question was optics or aperture. You left out the mount. If you really want to do some reasonably serious astrophotography then you will want to image for between 5 and 10 minutes per exposure.

I may be wrong but i dont think 1 minute subs with drizzle will cut it. You can take heaps of exposures and reduce the noise but at the end of the day you just wont have captured enough photons.

For the price of the 10 inch you can get an EQ6 and c9.25.