PDA

View Full Version here: : Which Mount for Astrophotography?

Matty P
05-02-2008, 02:07 PM
Hi all, :)

After getting my feet wet with a bit of DSO imaging and crossing over to the “Dark Side”. I have decided that I want to upgrade to a new mount (when the funds allow) suitable for long exposure imaging. I want the mount to be stable enough for long exposures and have GOTO. I would also like the mount to be able handle a larger scope in the future.

I will be using my Celestron 8” SCT OTA as the main imaging scope and hopefully my 80mm refractor as a guide scope. The camera I will be using is still a work in progress, either a Meade DSI or a DSLR.

After a bit of research I have found the EQ5 mounts are good for telescopes up to 12 inches. Therefore being a total newbie to this, I have no idea what is the best mount for astrophotography on a budget of no more than $2000.

Any suggestions?

:thumbsup:

madtuna
05-02-2008, 02:14 PM
There are some remarkable photos on this site, and I've witnessed many at the astro club I am a member of done using the EQ6 PRO.

Andrews have them delivered free Australia wide to your door for $1799

dugnsuz
05-02-2008, 02:38 PM
If you could stretch that budget by about $500, choice would be the Losmandy GM8 new (2nd hand cheaper, but rare as hen's teeth).
https://www.bintelshop.com.au/Images/Stock/7523X.jpg

EQ5 and a 12" scope would be a pretty unstable pairing I reckon;)

I only have an ED80 and 80mm guidescope on my EQ5 for astrophotography, and I wouldn't want to add any more weight to it!

Cheers
Doug:thumbsup:

Matty P
05-02-2008, 02:46 PM
Thanks Madtuna and Doug,

How does the Losmandy GM8 and the Skywatcher EQ6 Pro compare to each other?

Which one is better in terms of tracking and long exposures?

rogerg
05-02-2008, 03:26 PM
The GM8 will give you better tracking but not hold as much weight.