PDA

View Full Version here: : Choice between two (maybe more) scopes.

GazzMeister
12-01-2008, 10:43 PM
Good evening All

I'm a bit of a newb and I've got a hypothetical question. If you had to choose between a celestron cpc-11 (with the added cost of a wedge) or a celestron advanced c11, what would your choice be? Obviously different scopes, but which would you choose and what would influence your choice? If anyone has any other ideas of comparable scopes please include them also.

Gareth

Zuts
13-01-2008, 12:16 AM
Hi,

I have a nexstar 11 and the optics are fine, the CPC 11 optics are probably marginally better as the coatings are a bit better. There should be no difference between a CPC 11 and advanced as the OTA is pretty much the same.

The problem with the advanced is that they stuck an 11 inch OTA on a CG5 mount and basically it is too big for it and would be very difficult to get good images. Visually though it would be fine.

If you just want visual then go the CPC as alt az mounts are easy to set up and start viewing, compared to polar aligning the advanced.

If you are interested in photos then probably a C11 ota and an eq6 mount may be adequate. If you get the CPC then you will need a wedge. I found the Celestron wedge very hard to use and would probably get an aftermarket wedge, more expensive but far simpler to adjust when polar aligning.

I am thinking of selling my Nexstar and getting a c9.25 to put on my eq6 for photos, but then again i really like the ease of use of the alt az mount and the large aperture of the C11 so will probably keep it. Imaging is a different ballgame and i image through a small refracter on an eq6 and for visual use the C11 Nexstar.

Paul

OneOfOne
13-01-2008, 10:06 AM