PDA

View Full Version here: : Binocular collimation

GazzMeister
06-11-2007, 10:07 PM
Good evening Everybody

Just today I received a pair of brand new 20x80 triplet binos from AOE. Now while I am extraordinarily pleased with the optics, the pleasure turns to dismay when I open both eyes at once... The image jumps dramatically when I open one eye at a time. There is a bit of play at the end of each individual tube. The main part that is moving is around the brace at the objective end. I have no experience with braced binos so it's quite possible I'm overlooking something basic, but it does appear that the tubes aren't parralell. The binos were packed quite well in the box they came in so I don't think they got banged on the way down (from Syd to Canb). I have only heard good things about AOE so I'm thinking it might just be a dud pair OR I'm overlooking something really obvious.

Thanks for any help in advance

Gareth

StarLane
06-11-2007, 11:18 PM
It maybe that the pin/screw in the join where the two objective braces meets the central shaft is loose.
I have the exact same pair but have not had this problem.

Mine have a problem with the right hand eye lens (diopter control) being very loose. I can move it up and down and left and right. It changes the collimation if I bump it and the eye lens ends up on the wrong angle to the rest of the optics, makes me go cross eyed. As long as I make sure it's in a certain position (which I have since worked out) all is OK. I'm still happy with them, they are great for the money.

Your problem sounds like something as simple as a fastener somewhere in the brace. Have a close look around and see what you can find, or call AOE....

Mick
07-11-2007, 08:34 AM
I have the 20 x 80LW's and they have the same problem as your binos. AOE exchanged them but the replacement binoculars have the same problem as well so I don't use them. The optics are good but the focus mechanism lets them down.

chris lewis
07-11-2007, 08:42 AM