PDA

View Full Version here: : Focal Ratio

Benno
11-10-2007, 08:30 AM
Hey guys 'n' girls,
just a quick one in regards to focal ratio. as i am still new to some of this, im getting confused with focal ratio. i know that a shorter focal ratio is better for deep sky and longer for planets/moon etc, but what i dont understand is which way it goes. for example if i had a telescope that was f/5 would that be the short focal ratio or would say one with f/15 be the shorter one? ive seen that Dobs are around the f/6 mark but the Maksutov-Cassegrain are about f/13. any help would be greatly appreciated.
cheers
Benno

iceman
11-10-2007, 08:34 AM
Hi Benno

Short is f/5. Sometimes it's also called a "fast" focal ratio or a "fast" scope.

Long is f/10 and above. Sometimes it's also called a "slow" focal ratio or a "slow" scope.

I wouldn't necessarily say fast is better for deep-sky and longer is better for planets/moon. It just depends what you want to do. I love fast scopes for the wider field of view and more clear contrasty images they provide.

Fast scopes have more problems with coma and is more demanding on collimation and eyepiece design. Slow scopes just don't let as much light in, have a narrower field of view and more magnification for a given eyepiece.

Dennis
11-10-2007, 08:52 AM
For the same objective diameter, another feature of slow (F8, F10, etc), long focal length 'scopes is that focusing is not quite as critical. Using the analogy of camera lenses, you get a “better” depth of field, or “wider zone” of focus with a long focal length (F8 +) ‘scope. In a short focal length ‘scope (F4, F6), the zone of critical focus is quite small in comparison.

Cheers

Dennis

Benno
11-10-2007, 08:54 AM