PDA

View Full Version here: : AOE 1.25" Telescope Filters any good?

menotthat
03-07-2007, 08:03 PM
Hi all

Newbie here.

Just got a celestron powerseeker 127 eq (maybe it has been more like a month) and had some ok viewing. ok i mean great of the moon, could see jupiter and its moons as white dots. seen the side of venus as a half ball, and seen saturn small but with no shadows cast on itself. will be better after i have collimated it. too eager to just put it outside and start viewing.

but back to the question

saw these filters here http://www.aoe.com.au/filters.html and wondered if anyone had tried them?
plus is that moon and skyglow filter from baader really any good? trying to save some dollars. might invest more in the future.

thanks guys and gals

simon

iceman
04-07-2007, 06:59 AM
Hi Simon

Welcome to IceInSpace!

In my experience, filters for visual observing usually sit in your eyepiece case and very very rarely get used. The only filters I'd (personally) recommend are nebula filters such as OIII and UHC, which can increase the contrast of certain nebulas for your deep-space object viewing.

Moon filters are ok in that they cut the glare from the moon, but with 127mm of aperture it's not likely to blast your eyeballs out - not like the view of the moon through my friend Rod's 20" telescope. Increasing magnification is a great way to cut the glare from the moon. Try a shorter focal length eyepiece or stick a barlow in there.