PDA

View Full Version here: : 4se for a beginner's scope?

GazzMeister
11-06-2007, 08:44 PM
Greetings All

I am new to astronomy and I currently have a 130x900 reflector from Australian Geographic (where I work). I am wondering if it would be worth my while getting a 4se (which we also stock). I can get it half price (staff discount) $795. Is this a good telescope to keep me going for a few years? I can get a 6 or 8se from our sales rep but as we don't stock them at the moment I can only get around a 25% discount. I'm really after a telescope that will give me a few years usage before upgrading :-) (Meade RCX400. One day.... One day.)

netwolf
11-06-2007, 09:12 PM
You would be better of with the 5"+ The older 5's were very good. My mate has one of the older Nextstar 5's and its really a nice portable scope. The 8" is the top of this range and if its in your budget then its a good one to get. However some would say a single fork arm is not really the best support for such a big tube. You could always upgrade later to a EQ mount to put the 8" on. The older 5" mount was exatcly the same as the 8" mount so you could upgrade the OTA later on. There is a 5" I think on ebay at the moment.

The other thing is that you might be able to get a better price if you shop around, I have found Aust Geo to be a bit overpriced on telescopes.

Regards
Fahim

davewaldo
11-06-2007, 09:18 PM
Hi Gazz,

As I see it you would actually be taking a step backwards with that scope in many ways.

Your current scope has a 5 inch mirror whereas the 4se has only 4. This means that assuming the mirrors are similar quality you would actually see much less through the 4se.

If you look at some of the Australian telescope dealers you will find you could get an 8" or 10" Dobsonian of very high quality for less $ than your 4se.