PDA

View Full Version here: : 16" Lightbridge first light

DaveM
13-04-2007, 11:44 PM
First light for the 16" Lightbridge tonight, and I'm a happy boy :). This is my first review of a scope and I'm no expert, but here goes... I should also mention that I am not associated with Meade or any telescope shops; any 'gushiness' can be put down to the fact that I have a new toy.

There was a little bit of thin, high cloud around and I was observing from outside my suburban house on paved ground, so conditions weren't perfect, but not outrageously bad. As you might expect, the weight of this scope is not inconsiderable and it takes a bit of effort to move the primary mirror cell around. However if you are not lugging it too far this shouldn't be much of a problem. I think some sort of trolley will be useful for moving it about at home. I noticed a previous post said the wood for the mount looked flimsy, but it seems to me to be pretty solid (and reasonably heavy) once screwed together.

I found initial construction to be straightforward, with the instructions in coherent English (which makes a nice change). The struts lock in nicely, though I found attaching the secondary mirror tube to the top of the struts is probably best done with two people, though I did manage it by myself.

After collimation (nice to note that there are knobs rather than screws for the primary mirror) and cooling down time, the first target was the Orion Nebula. I found the scope to be nicely balanced and easy to move and aim (with the red dot finder). There are friction controls on the alt and azimuth axes, that you can use to adjust how easily the bearings move, but I found I didn't need to play with these much. For my height I didn't need a step ladder to reach the EP, but to view at zenith a step might be handy (at least for me).