PDA

View Full Version here: : 10 inch dob and 12 inch comparisons

vindictive666
22-11-2004, 10:14 AM
gday everyone

i was wondering if anyone can tell me where i can find out a detailed comparison between the 12 inch and 10 inch dobs plse ? apart from the obvious mirror sizes :)

what i would like to know is what the actual observing comparision may be?

is the extra 2 inch a big difference ?

any help appreciated :)

Saturn%5
22-11-2004, 11:44 AM
G'day.
Im no expert but have been told it comes down to light gathering power which is worked out like this.

10" 10x10 = 100

12" 12 x12 =144.

Sorry i have no other link for you but im sure others will be able to help.I have a 12" gso dob and have also looked in the 10" and well just maybe a slight difference between the 2.:confuse3:

vindictive666
22-11-2004, 01:53 PM
:confuse3:

pardon my ignorance whats a gso dob
is that a particular brand name or something ?

Saturn%5
22-11-2004, 02:40 PM
Hi yes it is a 12" Guan Sheng Optics Dobsonian scope, also has other names like southern cross, bintel , hardin and many more hope this helps you.

vindictive666
22-11-2004, 03:02 PM
thanx for that

i tried an google search and it came up with a site in germany
that sells an 12 inch gso dob with an split tube as option, that be cool, (if you could buy em in australia) i wouldnt mind paying a little extra for the facility to split the tube
it would make it easier for me to transport the 12 incher :D

iceman
22-11-2004, 03:09 PM
I've read that 12" is xx% more light gathering than the 10", maybe it's that 44% that Graeme suggested above, so obviously it makes a difference..

How much difference when you're at the eyepiece, will be up to the individual I suppose as everyone's experience may be a bit different.

But you do have to think seriously about portability - not only is the 12" a bigger and heavier mirror, the OTA is longer and bigger, the base is bigger and heavier, and of course, the cost is more.