Unmodified DSLR
About 20 west of Melbourne

raymo
24-06-2018, 12:38 AM
Hi Ryan, welcome to the forum. When posting images for comment and/or
critiquing, can you put the acquisition details, such as exposure[sub] length,
how many subs if more than a single frame, ISO etc:
Sorry to rain on your parade, but I can barely make out the object you
have imaged, and also it looks as though the focus is off. How did you focus? do you have LiveView, or use another method?
raymo

RyanJones
24-06-2018, 10:12 AM
Hi Raymo

Sorry for the lack of detail. I'm very new to this

60 x 20sec exposures
10 darks
ISO 400

I'm still trying to work out the best setup to use to get reasonable photos. My scope is polar aligned but has jerky tracking in exposures over 30s or so. That's why I used lots of short ones.

Re: focus. I use a bahtinov mask. I'm assuming the out of focus is more to do with the way I post-processed it. The Stars were quite a bit sharper before but were only stars.

Re: The " object " . It's of the carina nebula. Not of any specific object within or the complete nebula. It's the first pics I've taken though that don't look terrible..... I shall get back to the drawing board ......

xelasnave
24-06-2018, 11:23 AM
Welcome Ryan.
You have done well to capture something and we welcome you sharing your effort.
Keep them coming.
Alex

Imme
24-06-2018, 11:57 AM
Well done Ryan.... Still remember my first pic that i could actually see something.

Great effort.... It's a steep learning curve but well worth it. It was only 12 months since i started. Great results won't be far away!

Anth10
24-06-2018, 12:36 PM
Ryan,
In Melbourne the Light pollution is always going to be your worst enemy when doing astrophotography (apart from the clouds needless to say really).
Without a Ha sensitive chip you will struggle to get any nebulosity coming through in your shots. I found this too when I first began.