PDA

View Full Version here: : Carina Nebula with DSLR on Star Adventurer

jman17
04-06-2018, 05:47 PM
Hi,

I took this shot of the Carina Nebula at 150mm with a DSLR on a SkyWatcher Star Adventurer and am wondering if anyone can give me some feedback on how it could be improved? It was a series of mostly 90 second shots at 800ISO, for a total of about 40 minutes, with a Canon 450D. I shot it from my backyard in a regional city and processed it in Pixinsight after stacking in Deep Sky Stacker with bias frames and some flats and had to crop it quite a bit. I know darks would have helped reduce the noise more but for this shot I didn't manage to get them. I am still learning Pixinsight and have probably missed out on a lot of processing steps. Is it OK to post a link to my FITS file to see what others with more experience can get out of this shot, and explain the steps they took? It would help me a lot to get a workflow to follow to learn how to use Pixinsight better.

Thanks,
jman17

OzEclipse
04-06-2018, 06:19 PM
yes that's fine. Other forums restrict external linking particularly to other astro forums but it's fine here on IIS.

Lots of people post links external to IIS.

I'm not a PI user and can't help you but something looks strange with the stacking. Hopefully someone can help you.

Joe

kosborn
04-06-2018, 06:26 PM
I'm only a newbie myself but I'm happy to pass on what I have learned so far. Looks like there is some good data there and I think PixInsight is a good way to bring it out. It is a complex program though and takes a bit of learning. I bought 'Inside PixInsight' by Warren Keller and it is an excellent read with info on dslr, one shot colour and mono/filter imaging. The other really good sources of info I've found is Light Vortex Astronomy tutorials (http://www.lightvortexastronomy.com/tutorials.html) and Harry's Astroshed (http://www.harrysastroshed.com/pixinsighthomenewbie.html).