PDA

View Full Version here: : Buying an ipad-advice sought

hotspur
26-05-2018, 09:46 AM
On a work assignment in the Tanami Desert and the company has given me an ipad,I have never used or owned one before but its a very useful tool,the ap for the work is good and due to the large amount of K's covered gives me a real time map and locations of all the sets in the field.

So now I want my own,I have noticed these ipads are good for astro programs etc.

What are some specs I need to consider? what types would be best? how much too spend? A fellow IIS mentioned he had one around $500 ish. I really have little idea on how to proceed on this so hopefully someone tech minded can advise-thanks

Wavytone
26-05-2018, 05:04 PM
The must-have astro app is Sky Safari, though there are many others. It will run on just about any recent iPad, compatibility isn’t an issue.

Buy one with a SIM card and GPS, you will want these for sure.

Size... big question ... I quite like the iPad Mini.

hotspur
26-05-2018, 07:48 PM
Yes-thanks-seen that sky safari pro-wow-that really is amazing! will get that!

Yes-will make sure it has the points you mention-I need GPS for all this extra work I am getting interstate.I do over 100 K's a day out in the mulga and its amazing how it pin points locations and guides me to all of them

OzEclipse
26-05-2018, 07:56 PM
Size really depends on your other technology. I have the small Apple iPhone and a laptop so I didn't want a big iPad so I bought the iPad mini. I use it and Sky Safari with a Skyfi interface to run the GOTO on my mount.

My polarfleece jacket has xtra large pockets. The iPad mini fits into theses pockets.

There are a number of other really useful apps.
Time by Emerald bounces signals off several network time servers and gives time accurate to about 1ms with a display and audible beeping.

Spyglass is a digital compass. It has true bearing readouts and will superimpose the compass protractor over the camera image.