PDA

View Full Version here: : Help!!

Mystikal
07-01-2007, 07:21 PM
Hi All

Im just wondering, I am off to the states soon and I am going to buy a CG-5 Celestron GOTO mount. Can I put any scope on this mount? Im not to sure what Im doing. Im fairly new to the GOTO systems. It looks to me as if it is a normal EQ mount that could possibly handle reasonable size scopes.

Will it take the WO Zenithstars? Will it take a Nexstar OTA?

Any help would be much appreciated!!

Mystikal
07-01-2007, 07:24 PM
like a Mak Cas Nextar OTA, NS8SE or something like that? Also, to add would it take an 8in newtonian?

Sorry for the stupid questions!!

ballaratdragons
07-01-2007, 08:19 PM
See my comment following your post about the WO for sale.
http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=16234

Mystikal
07-01-2007, 08:42 PM
Im after solar system. It is definately my main interest.
Im also leaning toward portability.
Would a Nexstar 4SE be ok portability wise on a light mount?
There is one on ebay im interested in bidding on (the OTA only)
Its 300 dollars (bidding starts at, with no goto mount or eyepieces, but I have a Nagler and a Televue Eyepiece also a Meade Ultra Wide 14). Would it be worth it?

I really like the look, size and build of the WO scopes. They are wonderfull, and colour free with the doublet lense. So portable!!

Dont know what to do.
DSO's aren't for me just yet I suppose. I want no goto as yet. I want to learn the old fashioned way.

THanks in advance for any help and advice. Gotta get some dinner, BRB.;)

Astroman
07-01-2007, 08:59 PM
The Mak Cas would be good for Planets being an f12, not sure on their reputation though... But only a 100mm apature you are really only limited to looking at Mercury, Venus, Jupiter its 4 moons and Saturn in any detail, the other planets would be a little out of reach I think, Neptune and Uranus will only look like coloured stars.

Naglers are Televue eyepieces.....