PDA

View Full Version here: : Meridian Flip Question EQ6-R Mount

PKay
21-10-2017, 12:12 PM
Hi Clever Ones

Tonight I plan for the first time to image across the meridian (NGC253).

I have never done the flip thing before.

Synscan gives me three options: Auto flipping, Force flipping & No flipping.

Questions are:

Should I go Manual (force) or Auto?

On Auto when will the flip occur: before or after crossing the meridian?

On Manual should I force it before or after crossing the meridian?

Is there anything I should be aware of: like cables, camera hitting tripod, re framing the image etc?

_Jimmy
22-10-2017, 06:00 AM
Auto means the mount will determine if a meridian flip is required as part of the slew when the goto command is issued. I haven't used the newer paddles so I'm not sure if this will perform a flip on an object while tracking.

Force does what it sounds like - it forces a meridian flip regardless of one being required at the time the goto command is issued. SO if your scope and equipment is small enough and the object is relatively high in the east, you may get away with forcing the flip at the start and letting it run through the meridian and into the west.

No Flip - even if a meridian flips is required (e.g. going from an object in the east to one in the west) the mount will not perform a flip. Just be careful and watch your equipment.

If you are shooting from the start of the night and it's well in the east, leave it on auto, unless your equipment has enough room and won't hit the mount by starting off flipped.

As above, at the time the goto command is issued it will determine if it needs one then.

Either or, just do it when you finish a shot and are basically there.

All that, especially if you are starting off in a flipped state. Watch your cables especially. I now do a rotate test with my cables as part of setting up to make sure I've allowed enough slack.