PDA

View Full Version here: : Looking for help

Shaunmcmath
06-06-2017, 09:55 PM
Hi folks. Am a complete beginner and looking for tips on scopes, books and cameras. Wanting to get into the photograpghy side of things. :)

that_guy
06-06-2017, 10:07 PM
sup shaun, if you have time on saturday, theres a meeting a club meeting in ormeau for SAS (southern astronomical society). Everyone theres super helpful to beginners. Do you have any specific things in mind? Planetary imaging, DSO imaging, widefield imaging? Whats your budget?

Nebulous
07-06-2017, 09:27 AM
Hi Shaun,

Do you have any idea of what the answers to the questions that Tony asked above are? You can enjoy the hobby at a great many different levels and budgets - from pretty much zero through to as many tens of thousands of dollars as you care to throw at it.

If you already have a computer all you need to get started is the free Stellarium software and your eyes. If you already have a tripod and a camera that can do time exposures, you can start taking wide field shots immediately. And so on. What do you currently have?

Before you buy any books or telescopes have a read of two of the stickies above - Article: Part 1 and Article: Part 2. Well worth a read. If you do buy books check that they have good coverage of the Southern Hemisphere - many are heavily weighted to Northern Hemisphere observing.