PDA

View Full Version here: : 3C-273 spectrum

sjastro
02-03-2017, 02:01 PM
After years of doing astro imaging, I decided to use my trusty ST-X10ME CCD for a more scientific application.

Using a Star Analyser 200 I obtained a spectrum of the Quasar 3C-273 to highlight the red shift of the various Hydrogen lines of the Balmer series.

Since I am a beginner at this I had absolutely no idea of the exposure times required to obtain a decent S/N ratio.
My intention was on a total 2 hr exposure time but was cut back to one hour (6 X 10 minutes) on a BRC-250 scope due to fog.

While the spectrum is quite noisy I'm pleased with the result as the Hydrogen lines are clearly visible above the noise level.
I'd say it will require at least 4 hours exposure time to get the noise down to respectable levels.
I'll add more data when possible.

Steven

Merlin66
02-03-2017, 02:41 PM
Steven,
Very good mate!
Well done.
IMHO I wouldn't bother with added exposure on this object - you've effectively (and hopefully accurately) recorded the significant features and the Red shift.
What object/ processing software did you use to calibrate your spectrum??

sjastro
02-03-2017, 07:57 PM
Thanks Ken.

I used Rspec and performed a linear calibration on the object and the Ha peak using the experimentally determined red shifted value of 760 nm.

Pointing at the H-gamma and H-beta peaks indicates the wavelengths are within 1 nm of the experimentally determined values for this object.

Regards

Steven

Merlin66
02-03-2017, 08:05 PM
Steven,
OK understood....
What would have been "better" is to take a A type spectrum with exactly the same set up to calibrate the dispersion and then used the identified Balmer lines in the 3C273 spectrum to verify the red shift amount......

Practise, practise and more pract......;)

beren
02-03-2017, 10:11 PM